Warriors Awards 2015

A Winner!

IT was a night to remember at the Glasgow Warriors Awards Dinner 2015.

Rugby may be a team sport but this was an evening where the achievements of individuals, as well as groups, were rightly singled out.

Greenbelt were delighted to be on hand at the Radisson Blu Hotel in Glasgow last night to sponsor our very own award . . . and the winners of the Greenbelt Community Club of the Season were Hamilton RFC.

This was a richly deserved trophy for their continued work in youth development.

Throughout the season, they have supported the club at events as well as at matches, where they have played pre-match at both the mini and youth levels.

‘Man of the match’ on the evening was none other than a player who has now won this award twice in three seasons.

Yes, 26-year-old scrum-half Niko Matawalu was given the trophy for Glasgow Warriors McCrea Financial Services Player of the Season.

The Fijian international, who joins Bath next season, won out from a nominated short-list comprising Jonny Gray, Peter Horne, Tommy Seymour, Josh Strauss and DTH van der Merwe.

Alex Middleton, Greenbelt Chief Executive, said: “It’s always satisfying to see these awards go to those who have earned them so deservedly throughout the season.

“As a company that is proud to sponsor Warriors, a local club, as well as engage with all of our Greenbelt communities throughout the UK, the Greenbelt Community award is always especially important.

“Our congratulations go to Hamilton RFC and, of course, to all of last night’s award winners.”

Here’s the full list of all the award winners from last night:

Greenbelt Community Club of the Season – Hamilton RFC

McCrea Financial Services Player of the Season – Niko Matawalu

House of Fraser Players' Player of the Season – Peter Horne

Cameron House Young Player of the Season – Adam Ashe

QBE Most Improved Player of the Season – Fraser Brown

The Famous Grouse Coaches Award – Peter Murchie and Mark Bennett

McTear's Test Player of the Season – Stuart Hogg

Al Kellock Leadership Award, sponsored by Malcolm Group – Al Kellock

BT Try of the Season – Stuart Hogg (against Ulster)